Judicial Agencies

The Right-to-Know Law defines "judicial agency" as "a court of the Commonwealth or any other entity or office of the unified judicial system." Judicial agencies are required to provide access to financial records in accordance with the Unified Judicial System's Rule 509 and access to other records in accordance with the Unified Judicial System's Public Records Access rules and policies.

Decisions authored by the Supreme Court, the Commonwealth Court, and the Office of Open Records have identified the following as "judicial agencies" under the RTKL:

  • Courts / Unified Judicial System, including court administrative staff
  • Clerks of Court
  • Clerks of Orphan's Court
  • County Domestic Relations Offices
  • County Probation Offices
  • Prothonotaries

The following are not "judicial agencies" under the RTKL:

  • District Attorneys' Offices
  • Pennsylvania Board of Probation & Parole
  • Public Defenders' Offices
  • Recorders of Deeds
  • Sheriffs

In some counties, a number of offices listed above are combined into one. In such situations, a case-specific analysis must be done.